Office Talk

I’m sitting at my desk, minding my own business, listening to Howard Stern through a single headphone bud in my left ear…

Office Co-Worker comes up to talk to my manager, who happens to be standing behind me. They talk and my manager goes into her office. Office Co-Worker looks at me and goes, “Sean! I didn’t see your beard before.”

“Oh, yeah…grew it a while back,” I replied.

“I don’t come down here often so I haven’t seen it.”

“I get ya.”

“It makes you look older.”

“Excuse me?”

“No, sorry…I mean, it makes you look more sinister.”

More sinister?” I was silently annoyed by the exchange at this point, but my manager came back out of her office and says, “I like it. It looks sharp.”

“Thanks,” I replied.

Office Co-Worker fumphered, “Well, I don’t mean you looked sinister before, I just mean it makes you look sinister now.”

“Ah, cool. Thank you?”

Categories:

~ by seangstm on August 17, 2007.

One Response to “Office Talk”

  1. I get similarly “awkward” comment about my goatee – and I have had it for over a year now but my ID and Security passes for work have my “bald” picture and people seem compelled to make a comment about the “fur”.

    How about commenting on the 80lbs I have lost since that pic was taken?

Leave a Reply

 
