The Hardy Boys and the Case of the Rotting Meat

Yesterday, on my way home from work, I stopped by my local No-Frills to grab some things for my weekly get together with my buddy Glen. While there, I also picked up some lunch meat (roasted chicken breast) for my sandwiches this week. Since I’ve started going to the gym, I’ve found I prefer making my own lunches. Eating take-out makes me super tired and frankly, negates the entire gym-going experience. I got home, put the stuff in the fridge and thought nothing of it.

This morning, around 7:00am, I decided to start making my lunch for the day. I took my flaxseed loaf and pulled out four slices of bread. I put them on the counter and grabbed my French’s Honey Mustard from the fridge, along with one package of lunch meat. I tossed the lunch meat on the counter, shook up the mustard and then squirted some on each slice. I’m not a fan of lettuce on sandwiches, so it’s usually just mustard, meat and bread – boring, I know.

I then grabbed the package of lunch meat and cut it open with my kitchen scissors. I tossed out the cut off bit and reached in. As I did, I noticed the meat was unusually slimy. I mean, lunch meat tends to have a slime on it, especially the pre-packaged stuff I am forced to buy at No-Frills. This was more of a goopy, filmy slime that stuck to my fingers and made the everything REAL slippery. I pulled out the meat and noticed it was covered in this colourless, relatively scent-free, ooze. I scrunched up my nose and looked at the package.

Best Before: May 14

That’s right. Purchased on May 20, best before May 14 – 6 days prior. I know, I know, I should have checked the dates, but seriously…6 days? WTF?? What the HELL is wrong with the meat department at No-Frills?!?!

This isn’t the first time something like this has happened, either.

Needless to say, I threw out the entire thing…and the other package, too, which had the SAME expiry date. I was tempted to keep it to get a refund, but I’m too lazy. Is that wrong? Probably, yes, but fuck it. I ended up throwing out the four slices of mustard covered bread too, since I had nothing to put on them at that point. And now I have to buy a sandwich today…which sucks.

I suffer the most.

~ by seangstm on May 21, 2008.

4 Responses to “The Hardy Boys and the Case of the Rotting Meat”

  1. I have been forbidden to purchase meat from No-Frills for the exact same reason.

    And if you complain, you’ll get a shrug and a dead-eye stare from their hamsters-as-workers

  2. Yeah. I’m considering writing a letter to the head office since this particular No-Frills is severely entrenched in ghetto-tastic-ness. Ironically, as I was purchasing said over-dated meat, I thought to myself, “Wow…my local No-Frills is pretty shiteous.”

  3. Gross. Looks like fresh meat has become a frill.

    Just remember, the expiration date is your friend.

  4. Yeah, I know. I only have myself to blame, but seriously…think about it…

    …if that stuff is supposedly checked daily (you would ASSUME this is the case) – it was overlooked 10x in a row. Hardly down to me, methinks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
