Oh, England My Lionheart

My favourite Kate Bush song…performed live @ the Hammersmith Odeon (1979) on her ONLY tour. This song just reaches into my chest and rips my heart out…amazing. (Amazing) Lyrics follow.

Oh! England, my Lionheart,
I’m in your garden, fading fast in your arms.
The soldiers soften, the war is over.
The air raid shelters are blooming clover.
Flapping umbrellas fill the lanes–
My London Bridge in rain again.

Oh! England, my Lionheart!
Peter Pan steals the kids in Kensington Park.
You read me Shakespeare on the rolling Thames–
That old river poet that never, ever ends.
Our thumping hearts hold the ravens in,
And keep the tower from tumbling.

Oh! England, my Lionheart,
Oh! England, my Lionheart,
Oh! England, my Lionheart,
I don’t want to go.

Oh! England, my Lionheart!
Dropped from my black Spitfire to my funeral barge.
Give me one kiss in apple-blossom.
Give me one wish, and I’d be wassailing
In the orchard, my English rose,
Or with my shepherd, who’ll bring me home.

Oh! England, my Lionheart,
Oh! England, my Lionheart,
Oh! England, my Lionheart,
Oh! England, my Lionheart,
Oh! England, my Lionheart,
I don’t want to go.

~ by seangstm on May 30, 2008.

4 Responses to “Oh, England My Lionheart”

  1. I know you know I love Kate Bush. She is one of the best female artists I have ever listen too. She truly is brilliant!

  2. Grew up on her too. I love Experiment IV. Peter Lorrie and Dawn French never looked better.

  3. I love Dawn French’s appearance in that video.

    Dead Robot, have you ever heard the 12″? You’ll never listen to the original again, my friend.

  4. I haven’t. I am sure it would rock my socks.

    I just remember reading that the original (?) video for Experiment IV was banned on the BBC for being too graphic. Not sure if the ones on YouTube are the originals (if so, I dont know why it would be banned).

Leave a Reply

 
