Crack Dip

My friend Glen and I try to get together on a weekly basis.  When we do end up hanging out, the host for that week makes something for the both of us to snack on while we laugh at the absurdity of America’s Next Top Model, or So You Think You Can Dance, or any of the multitude of crappy reality shows that are polluting the current airwaves.

One of my favourite things to make (not to mention eat) is a recipe I found a long, long time ago for a Spicy Mexican Dip.  I can’t really recall the original name of it, but most people who’ve eaten it since agree that “Crack Dip” is the most apt designation; there hasn’t been a night when Glen and I have eaten it that I haven’t wanted to down the entire dish myself.  A bad idea, albeit a deliciously sinful one.

J made one request this weekend – that I make him Crack Dip on Sunday for our weekly football watching session.  I can’t ever really say no, so I gladly trotted off to the store to get the ingredients just before the football game commenced.  For fun, I thought I would put the recipe on my blog for anyone who might like to try it.  It is probably the easiest recipe I have in my entire recipe box and is undoubtedly one of the best.

First, pre-heat your oven to 375°F.

Next, take a 9×9 baking dish (about 2 inches deep) and spread cream cheese on the bottom.  I like to attempt to make this otherwise un-health-conscious recipe a little bit less ‘damaging’ so I try to use low fat cream cheese.

I’ve found the 95% Fat Free variety spreads the easiest, too.

Get two cans of your favourite chili.  I normally used President’s Choice Vegetarian Chili, which contains textured vegetable protein and is about half the calories and fat of the normal beef chili I used here.  Sadly, the store near me didn’t have it.

Empty the two cans into a large mixing bowl and add about a cup and a half of shredded cheese.  The spicy kind usually works best.

Stir the chili and cheese together and add some hot sauce if you so desire…

Spread the mixture over the cream cheese layer.

Sprinkle half a cup of the shredded cheese on top.

Place in the oven…

Set the timer for 15 minutes.

When done, the Crack Dip should be bubbling at the edges and the cheese on top should be completely melted.

Serve with tortillas and plenty of paper towels.

Enjoy!

~ by seangstm on September 27, 2009.

One Response to “Crack Dip”

  1. Yo CRACK DIP, I’m real happy for you, and Imma let you finish, but hummus is the best spreadable dip of ALL TIME! OF ALL TIME!

Leave a Reply

 
