The Road To Disney – Sleeping Beauty (1959)

This March Jtree, DeadRobot, Sharkboy and yours truly will be heading down to sunny Florida to visit the Happiest Place on Earth, Walt Disney World.  I’m super excited to be going for a whole week, staying on the resort and just having loads and loads of childish fun.  I’ve never been and its always been a dream of mine to go there (since my parents were so horrible as to have never taken my younger self).

Anyway, in an effort to get into the correct mindset, I’ve decided to start going through the Walt Disney filmography, both live action and animated.  I started Friday with Sleeping Beauty.

Sleeping Beauty is, in a word, spectacular.  The story, the music, the voice work, the visuals – all perfect.  I don’t have a single bad thing to say about it.  Maleficent, The Mistress of All Evil, has always been my favourite Disney character and re-watching the film (I haven’t seen it since I was a small child) only reinforced that.  Re-watching also reminded me of all the other great characters in the film, the Good Fairies, the Kings, etc.

The thing I was most impressed with (and blown away by) was the look of the film.  It is, without exaggeration, one of the most visually pleasing films I have ever seen.  I notice that it was released on Blu-ray back in 2008, so I’m going to do my best to find a used or stray copy of it somewhere.  Even on standard definition DVD, the filmed really inspired me as an artist – simply beautiful.

 

~ by seangstm on October 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Road To Disney – Sleeping Beauty (1959)”

  1. SB is my favorite, too. They really knocked it out of the park with the art direction on this one. Arguably SB is the origin of 50s “modern” style of television animation with it’s blocky character design.

    However, my favorite villain is still Jafar.

  2. I was lucky enough to be at Disney World when they had a full exhibit of artwork for Sleeping Beauty. It was the first movie I bought when we returned. I still have that video on a shelf in our living room

Leave a Reply

 
